Friday, October 28, 2011

Making Advent Special

Advent candles 2008


I cannot believe we're almost finished with October!  In just a little over a month, our family will begin reading the third book of our favorite Advent series. 

Jotham's Journey, Bartholomew's Passage, and Tabitha's Travels by Arnold Ytreeide are all beautifully interwoven stories that lead up to Jesus' birth.  Each character is lead on a different journey full of adventure and nail-biting cliffhangers.  Your kids will hardly be able to wait for the next day's reading.

Even though our older children have heard these stories numerous times, they still look forward to hearing them again every year.  And for our younger ones, it's a brand new story as they grow each year and begin to understand the beauty of Advent.  It's become a wonderful tradition in our that we hope they'll continue in their own families.

You begin reading the story on the fourth Sunday before Christmas, and read a section each day until you finally arrive at Christmas morning...the reading of Christ's birth.

Our first night of reading, we sit around the table with big mugs of hot chocolate.  It is such fun time for our family.

On Christmas morning, the tradition is to eat breakfast first.....gotta feed those hungry vulchers.  Then, we do nothing else until we've read our final Advent story.  It really sets the tone for what Christmas means to our family as Christ-followers, and why we celebrate His glorious birth.

If you're not already reading these, I highly recommend them.  If you can only order one, begin with Jotham's Journey, and try to collect one a year until you've acquired all three. 

Your family will love these, and the time spent reading together is a time to be cherished!

"With these books you will begin a rich tradition of nativity celebration in your household."

*This post contains affiliate links.

Photo Credit


Welcome! Thank you for visiting Sacred Mommyhood. I look forward to hearing from you!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...